mono black ramp

8 posts / 0 new
Last post
I have friends with mono green ramp decks and I think they look fun but I'm just not inspired to make one myself (not yet at least). Instead, I thought I'd take a shot at something less mainstream. I don't want to to spend a ton of money since the ceiling on this kind of deck is pretty limited; fortunately, many of the high cmc black cards don't cost much (probably because there aren't many black ramp decks being played). Anyway, this is my first shot and I'm pretty new at deck building (this is actually my first ramp deck) so I thought I'd get some advice. Let me know how I can improve!

Creatures (22)

[deck]3x Palladium Myr[/deck]
[deck]3x Dark Impostor[/deck]
[deck]3x Sangromancer[/deck]
[deck]3x Dread Slaver[/deck]
[deck]2x Massacre Wurm[/deck]
[deck]2x Reaper from the Abyss[/deck]
[deck]2x Rune-Scarred Demon[/deck]

Instant (9)
[deck] 3x Go for the Throat[/deck]
[deck]3x Doom Blade[/deck]
[deck]3x Tragic Slip[/deck]

Artifact (4)
[deck]1x Caged Sun[/deck]
[deck]3x Sphere of the Suns[/deck] 

Sorcery (1)
[deck]1x Army of the Damned[/deck] 

Land (24)
[deck]4x Buried Ruin[/deck]
[deck]20x Swamp[/deck]

Sideboard
[deck]2x Sorin's Vengeance[/deck]
[deck]3x Disentomb[/deck]
[deck]3x Disfigure[/deck]
[deck]4x Duress[/deck]
[deck]3x Sadistic Sacrament[/deck]

My sideboard might need some work too. Other cards I'm considering for my main deck are Harvester of SoulsFiend of the ShadowsVengeful Pharaoh, Consume Spirit, and Lashwrithe. But I'm sure I may have missed some that would be good to consider.

I'm really unsure how my curve is supposed to look with a ramp deck. I just kind of took a guess after looking at a few other green decks.

Anyway, I mostly just want a casual deck that would be fun to play. Thanks for the help!
Myr are wrong for a ramp deck. Black has known good ramp methods but oddly enough they are not cheap. For the cheapest way to get big stuff done soonest I would go with.

voltaic key