DM TIps?

14 posts / 0 new
Last post
Long story short I'm fairly new to D&D. I have been interested in it for some time and have been reading all kinds of material, reviews, tips & ticks, and so forth.

Two things that I want to ask about are rituals and skill challenges.

Over and over again I read and hear that these were both very good ideas that were poorly exited by 4e. My understanding is that people find rituals to take "too much time and cost too much." What does that mean exactly? Too much time to cast? Aren't they rituals? Aren't they supposed to take some prep time to complete? I thought that was a good mechanic for role play rather than just spontaneous casting from a scroll or by a caster. They also look like a fun way to let non-casters and parties without casters have access to utility spells. Also, would a good way to "offset the cost" of rituals be to give scrolls or even books away in treasure parcels?

Regarding skill challenges, what is the problem? From what I read, most of the problem was a lack of imagination by DMs or players and that Skill challenges just turned into a dice rolling session with little RP.

I plan on starting up a KotS campaign this weekend [hopefully] and I am looking for any other last minute advice as I make modifications to the printed adventure.
A lot of the perception is that, yes, it is different from before. Rituals and Skill Challenges do have their faults, but too often when you hear someone complaining about them, it's because they're new additions to D&D. 

Here's my advice. 

Rituals: They don't see much use in the Heroic Tier (except for the free Rituals some classes get), but they get used like cantrips at higher levels. They're great for helping player overcome obstacles of time, distance, or ability. I've found that I don't have to plan my adventures around them screwing it up, but they have a great potential to do things you don't expect PCs being capable of doing.