What I miss about (A)D&D

I started playing D&D back in 1979.  Around that time it began to be a bit of a phenomenon, and it was in the press alot (both good and bad).

Someone talked me into playing one night at Ohio State University, and I was hooked. 

Everyone I talked into trying it loved it.  It wasn't your typical group of antisocial folks either.  It was full spectrum and a mix of both guys and girls from all social circles.

What made that version of AD&D so much fun, and so successful was that it was relatively easy to play, it was flexible, and it moved along smoothly and quickly.

Almost every gaming group I ever joined that played AD&D had adopted two very popular optional rules, 1) spellpoints, and 2) THACO.  Other than those two modifications, nearly every DM I ran across played straight AD&D.

Later versions lost the "magic" for me and those I played with.  Those later versions felt more constrained, slower moving, and more and more like a boardgame.  We kept playing AD&D (with those two modifications) for about a decade and then drifted off to other interests.

I think that WoC should do one of two things:

1) Try to capture that fast paced, simple functionality, and fun of AD&D in D&D Next or
2) Re-publish AD&D with new artwork, and add in those two almost universally used optional rules (spellpoints and THACO).  Call it "AD&D Classic".

I suppose they could do both.   There is money to be made with option #2 I believe.  You have all the material, and you could use updated artwork.   You have to admit, there was something about AD&D that made it so fantastically popular the first time. 

Recently, my kids and their friends tried D&D 4e.  They thought it was fun but moved too slow.  I bought a set of AD&D books off of ebay (expensive), and low and behold, they love it!

I wish the team the best of luck.

I'd like to see that old spirit back in the game, whichever path they take.

Thac0.  Really?