Creating a Deck

12 posts / 0 new
Last post
So, I'm new to Magic: The Gathering. I was brought into the game casually with a group of friends. I decided one day to buy my own Deckbuilder's Toolkit and build my own deck. I ended up creating a semi-descent deck, but I know it can be better. I know building a deck can be very advanced, and I want to take it to the next level. So please give me any advice to building a deck, wether it's choosing a color or deciding the theme of the deck. Thank you.
You'd have better luck in casual part of the forum and giving us a starting deck to tweak would be great as well. Telling you how to build a deck from scrap isnt easy. Choosing the color is also up to you, all colors are good, some colors will simply suit you better, I'm very good with blue (more than half my decks run blue) and I dislike red (got no decks out of 12 with red) each time I make a red deck, I end up changing red for another color lol
I'm new myself. What I did, was think about an ability such as deathtouch, first strike etc and build an entire deck around it. It's a simple idea but seemed to work well for my deck which was based around flying.
New as well. Actually I played in '93/'94. Got back in when I saw they introduced Werewolves. So I'm trying my hand at Lycanthrope decks. Also trying to get back into the hang of Black since that was my main color.
ZERODEGREES:

Do what CONANTHEKING and BUBASTI did. Base your deck on a theme to keep your focus.
Start out with one color and have 22-24 lands (25-26 lands if you play with castingcosts above 3)

That should be the absolute basics.

You will have to play with or against counterspells one day so either make your deck blue or play against someone with blue to learn about that aspect of magic.

CONANTHEKING: