Questions to better my Battlemind

15 posts / 0 new
Last post
I am somewhat of a newbie to D&D (meaning I had never played until I started this campaign, roughly 7-8 months ago). I just wanted to get some more experienced players ideas/advice on the best way to play my Dragonborn Battlemind. here is an overview of my char.

It seems like I never get the oprotunity to use Mind Spike, but I am almost always drawing the fire from Melee monsters and a lot of range. I know I am not built to deal out mass amounts of damage, but I feel like I am somewhat lacking in assisting my party in taking down enemies. Also, since Im so high in CON, my Melee basic attack is terrible for attack of opprotunities, any suggestions on how to fix that? Also, I feel like I dont protect/defend well against area attacks. Is there some way to be better at this?

Like I said, Im fairly new to D&D and very very new to the forums (this is post 4), so any feedback would be greatly appreciated!
Ok, so my picture of my char. overview didnt work out.. Here is the basics in plain text..

Level 6 Dragonborn Battlemind. Wild Focus psionic study. I have dragons breath.
Final ability scores: Str 10, Con 19, Dex 12, Int 9, wis 14, Cha 17
Starting: str 10, con 16, Dex 12, Int 9, Wis 14, Cha 14

AC: 24, Fort: 19, Ref:18, Will: 20
HP: 64, surges: 13, Value: 20
trained in athletics +6, Diplomacy +11, Intimidate +13 (I love to role play my guy, so i wanted high mods on diplomacy to talk to NPCs and such)

POWERS:
Wilder feature: psychic surge
Battlemind Demand
Blurred Step
Mind SPike
Wild Focus
Valiant Strike (paladin at-will, never use it because its used with Str. Bonus from amgic armor)
lvl 1: conductive defense
lvl 1: concussive spike
lvl 1: Living fortress
lvl 2 utility: psionic vigor
lvl 3: spectral legion
lvl 5: empathic feedback
lvl 6 utility: winged weapon

feats: master at arms, hurl breath (dragon breath now burst 2 within 10), Powerful breath (dragon breath uses Con now), Improved Defenses