Battlemind vs Warden

8 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hello to all,

I am new to the D&D online experience. Prior to this past month, I have never used the character builder app to create a character, it's pretty awesome! This is also my first post on the boards. I'm hoping to get some advice on building a defender for our new campaign.

We have a pretty well-rounded team with a wizard, two strikers, and a shaman. I am one of two defenders, the other is a Genasi Swordmage.

I am trying to decide between the Battlemind and Warden. Any input from anyone about either class would be awesome. Bonus points if you can help me choose a race, too. So far, I've been leaning toward Goliath BM and a Shifter Warden. But again, I'm pretty open to anything.

I'm a little bummed about the point system for the BMs, that seems really prohibitive ... Wardens have a nice range of attacks and defenses ....

Anyway, would love to hear what you all have to say ... Looking forward to some replies.

Thanks!
John

I'm a little bummed about the point system for the BMs, that seems really prohibitive ... Wardens have a nice range of attacks and defenses ....

I'm confused by that statement, because the psionic power points have little to do with the character's attacks and defenses. Or why the psionic power system is more prohibitive than the power system used by Wardens.

Anyways, I recommend the Warden. The Warden is a pretty simple defender to play, and hard to screw up. The Battlemind on the other hand, requires much more system mastery to make effective. 

Co-author on AoA 2-3 and 4-1.

Wow, thanks for the quick reply! I probably should have prefaced the whole thing by saying Battleminds are brand new to me.

Anyway, what I mean about the power points refer to how I think they play into the augmentation system for the BMs. You get 2 points per encounter and each time you augment, it costs as many points as it says ... right?