Optimal Dwarven Fighter and Dragonborn Fighter

12 posts / 0 new
Last post
I'm making a  Lvl 5 Dwarven and Lvl 5 Dragonborn fighter character and I'm wondering what improvements you would suggest.  I want both to be able to dish out a lot of damage but also be able take a lot of punishment, so i set STR and CON high for both (mostly concerned with dealing damage).  I also want my characters to almost never miss in battle.  I am using the Character creator to make both.
 I'm pretty new to D&D so please give me any suggestions for improvemtents or how i can change the characters more how I want them to be.

First the Dwarf
    His ability scores (including racial benetifts and level additions) are as follows:
Str  19
Con 19   
Dex 13
Int   10
Wis  11
Cha  8

Weapons/ Armor:               Feats:
Waraxe                               Dwarven Weapon Training
Scale Armor                        - (unsure of other 2 feats)
Heavy Shield                      

The Dragonborn (Dragon Breath Fire)
Ability Scores
Str  20
Con 15
Dex 13
Int   10
Wis  12
Cha  10

Weapons/ Armor:                                Feats:
Scale Armor                                          Weapon Proficiency (Bastard Sword)
Bastard Sword                                       Dragonborn Senses 
Battleaxe (if i lose sword in battle)          Quick Draw
Heavy Shield

Please give me any suggestions and expanations for suggestions.  Thanks

Straight away I am drawn to the dwarven build much more than the dragonborn, and I am rather bias towards dwarves anyway, so I will focus more on that build.