Mono Black Zombie for Standard

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hi All!

I'm a returning player trying to get back in the groove of making decks. I've never really played in tournaments or leagues. So, this is my first attempt at  creating a deck in a specific format. I've only been a casual player before. A new store has started hosting events for a Magic League and standard format events. I was hoping I could get some feedback on the below deck and how I could improve it:

Zombie Apocalypse
60 cards
3 Haunted Fengraf
16 Swamp
19 lands

1 Black Cat
1 Highborn Ghoul
1 Geralf's Messenger
2 Ghoulraiser
2 Infectious Host
2 Unbreathing Horde
2 Gravedigger
1 Rotting Fensnake
1 Vengeful Pharaoh
Zombie Goliath
14 creatures

1 Bump in the Night
1 Ghoulcaller's Chant
1 Tragic Slip
1 Cellar Door
3 Consume Spirit
1 Demon's Horn
1 Graveyard Shovel
1 Chalice of Life
1 Gravepurge
3 Diabolic Tutor
3 Endless Ranks of the Dead
1 Grimoire of the Dead
3 Moan of the Unhallowed
2 Death's Caress
Zombie Apocalypse
3 Army of the Damned
27 other spells
You are Red/Blue!
You are Red/Blue!
Take The Magic Dual Colour Test - Beta today!
Created with Rum and Monkey's Personality Test Generator.
You are both rational and emotional. You value creation and discovery, and feel strongly about what I create. At best, you're innovative and intuitive. At worst, you're scattered and unpredictable.
I only see 3 spells (maybe four) spells in that entire list that are playabe.  Here's a list that is a lot closer to where you want to be with Mono-Black Zombies:

I only see 3 spells (maybe four) spells in that entire list that are playable

Just trying to understand this... it looks like the majority of the spells here are 4 and less mana cost. So, is that what you go for with a Zombie deck? 
You are Red/Blue!
You are Red/Blue!