Magic newbie asking for deck help

21 posts / 0 new
Last post

I'm pretty new to Magic, having only started playing Magic Online a few days ago. I did play the paper-card version a bit in high school, but that was almost a decade ago at this point, so I'm a rookie when it comes to modern Magic.

The idea of the deck is to produce and power-up as many zombies as possible, while recalling important zombies that have been killed with abilities like Disentomb and the Ghoulraiser.

I've been having lots of trouble with enemy Flying Creatures, Enchantments and Artifacts, but don't have (or know of) any appropriate cards that could truly counter them.

2 Warpath Ghoul
2 Doom Blade
3 Adaptive Automaton
2 Ghoulcaller's Chant
2 Ghoulraiser
1 One-Eyed Scarecrow
2 Diregraf Ghoul
1 Cemetery Reaper
1 Jar of Eyeballs
1 Endless Ranks of the Dead
7 Swamp
2 Nested Ghoul
3 Walking Corpse
1 Geth's Verdict
1 Cellar Door
2 Moan of the Unhallowed
1 Sightless Ghoul
2 Disentomb
2 Highborn Ghoul
1 Elixir of Immortality
1 Go for the Throat
1 Gravedigger
2 Unbreathing Horde
7 Swamp
7 Swamp
2 Skinrender
1 Diabolic Tutor

Unfortunately black can't deal with artifacts and enchantments very well, so you might as well ignore them and focus on your strengths. As for enemy flyers, I suggest adding more of Geth's Verdict and Doom Blade, and a zombie deck can benefit from Lord of the Undead, Zombie Master and Soulless One.
adaptive automaton ids a stange card in a tribal deck with so many lords to choose from. Your decks need an actual strategy, it seems a bit all over the place. Most zombie decks try to overwhelm opponent using strong 1 drops in conjunction with strong lords to mount a fast and powerful offense. Its not the only strategy at all, but you would need to find some way to make use of zombierecursion to give you power (zombie infestation and madness is one example) cuz other than skinrender and phyrexian crusader zombies are sadly lacking in powerful, stand-alone 3-5 drops.