In your experience, how important are roles in a party?

16 posts / 0 new
Last post
This is my first post in the DND forum and I am relatively new to DND in general, so if I break any forum rules or appear to not know what I'm talking about, please forgive me. :P

Now, I've only been playing DND 4E for a couple of months now. It's my first RP experience and I have enjoying it thoroughly. I'm in medium-ish part and have been doing a lot of research into DND so that I'm able to contribute effectively.

Now, one of the things that has intrigued the most is the four roles: Leader, Defender, Striker, Controller.

Our current party conists of the following members:

Elf Assassin
Dragonborn Paladin (Me)
Human Warlock
Human Fighter

Now, we've had many guest members join our party and as we are soon to enter the epic tier we have been told we are to be joined by a few new members, but the fact is our main party consists of two strikers and two defenders.

But what's stroke me as odd is.... We don't seem to have done that bad.

Of course there's times we've struggledand times we've triumphed, but we've manged to pull through to the epic tier without dying and missing two of the main four roles.

I've asked our DM and he says he's never build combat encounters specified for this party, he's just thrown at us what he'd throw at a more balanced party.

So my question is this: In your experience, has a balanced party consisting of all the roles ever really mattered to you?
Do you and your fellow players create your characters with roles and balance in mind or do you just go with what feels right?

Edit: If possible, include examples of parties you've played in that have been missing some of the roles.
The roles don't matter as long as you and your DM take into account the capabilities that you are lacking in how you tackle encounters/how encounters are designed.  And 'capabilities' doesn't just include the roles, it includes the powers, feats, gear, and everything else.