Managing large group of PCs in combat

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
I have recently started a group with six players and am noticing that the combats are turning out really slowly. It' a lot of waiting time and it's sad when one player don't have much to do when his or hers combat round finally comes ("I have no powers left so I do a basic attack... and miss... I'm done.") Some of the players are new to DnD, so my hope is that things are going to be better in the future.

But I still wonder if six people is a to big group for a combat heavy DnD4-campaign. Any tips for managing big groups of players in combat encounters and make it a fun experience for everyone?
You set up with one problem, but describe a different one. Combats running slow is different than combats running long. I run an 8-player group, and occasionally, all eight actually show up. So I have some experience with this. We tend to get three combat encounters into each five hour session, along with heavy non-combat roleplay. Here's how.

Combats running slowly:
This tends to be an organization problem. To help with the organization:

• We write the initiative order on the white board, and each player knows ahead of time that their turn is coming up. This cuts down on transition time between players.

• If a player is not "ready" when their turn comes up, we skip them (they move further down the initiative order). If the same player does this too often, they will end up losing an entire turn over the course of the combat. (This has happened... once.)

• Lastly, our players roll all their dice at once -- to hit and damage dice. This makes it just a little bit faster.

Combats running too long:
This is generally a planning and execution problem. I find that this is best overcome through encounter variety.

• I always vary the encounter levels. Those three encounters tend to be: Level -1, Level +0 or +1, and Level +2 to +4. I also mix up the order these occur.