Game of Thrones Setting and Player problems

17 posts / 0 new
Last post
I am currently thnking of doing a campaign with a storyline simmilar to game of thrones, but im not very good with all the politics and such, and would appricate some advice on the matter.

Also i am having a problem with 1 player not paying attention, wanting to insert sex in nearly every situation,does not pay attention to the game, and has an attitude problem and i am tired of it, this player is the fiance of our former DM, who just stepped down as a result of her attitude. I am trying to run a clean game as clean as i can anyway, there are several children in the room at the time and my girlfriend is going to be joining us next week.
Can't help you with the first problem, but the second is easy.

Address her directly, in private.  Tell her there is no sex in this game because there are children, and tell her that she will need to start paying attention.  Address her attitude problem directly and specifically, citing individual incidents if at all possible.  Inform her that, if her behavior does not change, she will not be returning to the game.
Another day, another three or four entries to my Ignore List.
I think the problem kind of got taken care of tonight, but since we're under a new DM i don't know, im not fond of the new dm and his style which is why im working on my own campaign.
To be fair, A Song of Ice and Fire is a world dripping with sex.  Sex drives the entire plot, defeats heroes, topples kingdoms, and is a key component in the most powerful spells.  If you want a family-friendly game, I'd pick a different setting.
Politics are difficult in any setting. Start out light to get practice. It's possible the players wont be into it, so figure that out before you worry yourself too much.

As for the sexy stuff, yeah its funny once ib a while, but also gets creepy pretty quick. If you are uncomfortable speaking directly to the problem player, then address her fiance.