Essentials or 3 Core Books?

32 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hi, folks. I've been DMing D&D (and numerous other rpgs) for 15 years starting with AD&D 2nd Edition all the way up to 3.5 and even some Pathfinder, and recently my group and I have begun to get a little burned out with the sytem we were using. I want to start fresh, back in my D&D roots. I'm pretty familiar with 4E even though I've yet to run it or see it in play. I know that D&DNext is coming down the pipe, but I kind of want to start really soon. So I think that we are going to be playing 4E.

I kind of wanted to start playing using the standard 3 Core 4E books as opposed to the Essentials line, but I was wondering if that is the way to go? I'm a fan of the standard 3 book format that was used in 2E, 3E and 3.5 and don't really want to invest in the whole Essentials collection.

So does anybody still play using the 3 Core books for 4E? Or are the fans of 4E into Essentials more? 

I kind of wanted to start playing using the standard 3 Core 4E books as opposed to the Essentials line, but I was wondering if that is the way to go? I'm a fan of the standard 3 book format that was used in 2E, 3E and 3.5 and don't really want to invest in the whole Essentials collection.

So does anybody still play using the 3 Core books for 4E? Or are the fans of 4E into Essentials more? 

This last is kind of a loaded question. There are fans of both, some fans exclusive to one or the other. What Essentials really offeres is a choice of complexity. Some classes are almost unchanged from their Core 4E roots, some are greatly simplified either in the number of choices or complexity of play, and some are in between.