Please explain potential scenarios

3 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hey everyone.  I'm relatively new to magic and just built my own b/u zombie deck that I'm about to try out for the first time tomorrow.  Like I mentioned, I'm relatively new so I don't understand all of the ins and outs of the game.  My deck focuses on getting gravecrawlers out and beefing them up with cemetery reapers and diregraf captains, and having potential finishers in geralf's messenger, grimgrin, or mikaeus.  I thought of some potential scenarios that could come up that I would like to know what would happen before playing the cards:

1.)  If I have a diregraf captain and another zombie and declare them as attackers.  If both of them die during combat, will the captain's ability where my opponent takes 1 damage every time a zombie dies be put into effect?  And does it also happen whenever a diregraf captain would die?

2.)  does the diregraf captain's ability stack? i.e. if I have 2 captains out and a gravecrawler dies, does my opponent take 2 damage?

3.)  If I sacrifice a zombie, will the diregraf captain's ability be activated?

4.)  Can I sacrifice creatures at will?  If I have 2 diregraf captains and 2 gravecrawlers can I sacrifice the 2 gravecrawlers to make my opponent take damage?

5.)  If I sacrifice a gravecrawler to untap grimgrin, can I immediately pay the 1 black mana to bring the gravecrawler back?  And can this ability only be done at sorcery speed, and will it cause the gravecrawler to have summoning sickness?  

Sorry there were so many questions, but thanks for helping! 
1) Yes, a Diregraf Captain's ability will trigger if both himself and other Zombies die simultaneously. Creatures die at the same time, so abilities that rely on it still go off. Also, the Captain says, "Whenever another Zombie dies," so no, he cannot set off his own ability.