Character help with a hybrid avenger/assassin

2 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hey, I'm really new to Dungeons and Dragons and one of my friends who's been playing for a long time is getting ready to start up a 4th edition dark sun campaign and invited me to join. I was trying to come up with a useful character that would be fun to roleplay and thought that maybe trying to do a hybrid class between neutral avenger and assassin would make for an interesting and fun combination. I already know that lore wise even though the gods on dark sun are dead/not around anymore, the dm was ok with me having my character originate his avenger powers through a pact that he made with a being that claims to be the new lord of death and shadows that has replaced the now absent Raven Queen when he was protected from the destruction of his clan during a terrible raid by raiders when he was coming of age. In return as part of the pact he was promised by the Lord of Death that he would be given the chance to hunt down each and every one of those who had a part to play in the destruction of his clan and claim their lives in vengeance of those that they stole. By the end of the campaign when he hits his final stage of his journey the plan was for him to end up becoming a demigod who would then become the new God of Death and Shadows, and thus be able to go back to go back to where his past mortal seft existed and give him the power to furfil his quest, (its a omega theory hybrid mixing in with some mythology stories such as how odin recieved some of his powers ect.) I'm just trying to figure out what maybe a good race that would be both beneficial and fun to roleplay with might be, I was originally thinking maybe having him be an elf or half elf, as well as trying to figure out maybe what powers would be good to take for hybrid classing. The other question I was wondering was whether or not it would be possible for him to maybe be able to dual wield a hatchet in his off hand and a dagger or 1 h