U/G Self Mill Suggestions

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
Self-mill suggestion: Don't do it.  But if you must, give Ghoultree a try, it's pretty threatening.
Add more creatures.. Not explosive enough without mill skaabs.

20 is like... lower than the lowest that any of this decktype should contain.

Also, 10/10s for three mana own face.
Tehbeast, what is so bad about the G/U self mill decks?  In my casual group, the guys I play with hate it when I bring it out.  I know it is susceptible to grave cleansing, but is there anything other than that?  I am new to the game, and am interested in learning as much as I can.

Also, I like having a few Artful Dodges in my deck.  Even if they get milled into the graveyard, you can still use them.  What is the thought about that spell?

Creatures
Deranged Assistant x4
Screeching Skaab x3
Armored Skaab x2
Splinterfright x4
Kessig Cagebreakers x4
Mirror-Mad Phantasm x1
Laboratory Maniac x2

Instants
Gnaw to the Bone x3
Dream Twist x3
Memory's Journey x2
Noxious Revival x3

Sorceries
Tracker's Instincts x3
Mulch x3

Lands
Hinterland Harbor x4
Island x9
Forest x10

Sideboard
Turn Aside x4
Mana Leak x4
Unsummon x4
Silent Departure x3

I run two versions of this deck, U/G and B/U/G I'm still trying to decide which I like better, here's the things I've found from running it so far and from discussing it on some other sites.

First, Deranged Assistant is too slow, the two and three slots are pretty full of mill and creatures, if you want mana acceleration you're MUCH better off with Birds of Paradise, they give you a bit of color fixing as well which can be important.  Also, the birds are a bigger target for early removal which helps you out too.  Either you get an early creature in the graveyard or you get mana fixing.

The Skaabs are good, I would run more of them.  In my lists I run 3 of each but I would prefer to run 4 of each I just don't have the room for them though.