Color Wheel Whine: Why is Green no longer Life?

53 posts / 0 new
Last post
Way, way, way (...) way back when I started playing Magic, I really liked green. I eventually would learn to play other colors, but back in the day, give me a Wyluli Wolf, and I was happier than anything. One of the reasons I really liked Green back in the day was a simple card called Stream of Life. While White was all about preventing damage, with Samite Healer's and Healing Salve, you could count on Green for real solid Life Gain strategies. Elvish Farmer did so much during it's day...

... and I realize they went and changed the color wheel a bit, but I still thought that Green was suppose to represent Nature and the Life Force, and that green was suppose to care about life gain. It seems that White has taken its place, and that green cares less about life gain than Black does, and that is weird, because Black shouldn't have been about life gain at all, and yet it seems obsessed with it over the last few sets.

Am I alone in this? I know Lifegain isn't a winning stratagem, but does anyone else feel green is getting pushed out of the space it should have had?
IMAGE(http://images.community.wizards.com/community.wizards.com/user/blitzschnell/0a90721d221e50e5755af156c179fe51.jpg?v=90000)
Wat.

Green and white are both about gaining life :/
A little bit of courage is the real magic.
Yeah, there are ten green cards that gain life, as opposed to twenty white cards, which is totally fine in my opinion. Also, black's life gain is always vampiric in nature, maiking your oponent lose life as you gain more. Black has been doing it since Alpha, too.
whatcolor_isred.jpg
Can you really say that anymore?

Out of approx. 82 cards that let you gain life in the Standard environment...

21 has white
20 had black
10 has green
the rest being artifacts, and mutlicolored black cards, or Gather errors picking up Phyrexian Mana.