A question for old schoolers (multiple edition changes)

Setup: So, I started playing D&D towards the tail end of 3.5.  (My first game used Book of 9 Swords).  3.5 -> 4e has been my only edition change.  But I've heard a lot of people didn't like 4e.  They think "It's not D&D anymore."  Now, I know a lot of 4e fans find that a very inflammatory statement.  It definitely pisses me off.  But I'd like to try to get past that for a moment.  What was the big difference?  I mean, we've had edition changes before.  Hell, as I understand it, 3.0 got rid of thac0 and thus completely inverted how you rolled for combat.  Why were all of those big, sweeping edition changes not rejected as "no longer D&D"?  Near as I can tell, here's the big differences between 3.5 and 4e:
- No more Vancian magic.  Your wizard can't run out of spells and be entirely useless.
- Separation of spells into spells and rituals/removal of "I win" buttons.  Ok, I guess that does change how magic users play a lot.  But that's the biggest complaint I heard about 3.5 while 3.5 was the current edition.
- Martial classes get competitive.  I see this in two parts - a high level fighter no longer sucks compared to a wizard, and the fighter gets a bunch of cool moves.  The former seems like a good thing - everyone is useful at every level, as opposed to the fighter having fun at low levels while the wizard sucks and the wizard having fun at high levels while the fighter sucks.  No longer is there a level where only some classes are fun to play.  The latter builds off of weapon fighting styles from the real world and fantasy works, plus it's just a different skin for the old tactical feats.  Just remove the prerequisites for their use and replace it with an assumption of how tiring it is/how easily you can find the appropriate opening/how able you are to get your foe to fall for your trick.