D&D Next: please, please, please: measuremnets also in the METRIC SYSTEM.

Hi,

I've been playing since 1982: basic, 1st, 2nd, 3rd and 4th.

Reading the books made me understand the Imperial system of measurement.

But why can't it be metric too? (next to the inpoerial measurements)

A new edition is an ideal opportunity to implement it.

Of course it shouldn't be an exact port, but an easy conversion could be done.

For instance: (bad example)  the square representing 5 feet translates to about 1,5 meters.. but that's a pain to constantly compute in multiples (if I want to be quick), instead it could rpresent 2 meters-(much easier to multiply/compute). it wouldn't change anything to game mechanics.

Just my two euro cents for the players who live in a metric world.

have at it!

Well, hopefully it won't be measured in anything but squares like 4e. That's all you needed to know. Didn't need to know feet, although technically 1 square = 5 feet. It never came up, because everything was just measured in squares.
Well, hopefully it won't be measured in anything but squares like 4e. That's all you needed to know. Didn't need to know feet, although technically 1 square = 5 feet. It never came up, because everything was just measured in squares.

Yes,
 but overland travel, for example, is measured in miles, and everything else too.
not just the grid/combat

I hope not! That means the battle grid is mandatory!
1 square = 1.5 meters = 5 feet. Pretty simple. For those of us (like me) that live in a metric world and want to use metrics, multiples of 1.5 are a pain, true, but it's either that or having bad rules for those using feet. [Edited]
Are you interested in an online 4E game on Sunday? Contact me with a PM!
Show