A question of the realms

19 posts / 0 new
Last post
So i am new to the forgotten realms setting, barring some experience from the neverwinter nights games, and I was wondering what was up with the general negativity of 4e forgotten realms? 

I've flipped through the 4e campaign book and I really don't see what the issue is.
first let me take the time to say. Welcome to the realms and the fr web forums here at wotc.

we're a loud and vocal bunch....

now, to your question.

You want to know that....

should you find a copy of the 3.x version of the campaign setting you might come closer to a formal non argumentive answer than asking us why.

okay so I'll sum it up.
spell plague
deity combinations
100 year time jump 
destruction of Halruua
deity killings  that made no sense whatsoever

loss of matzica and the old empires

wotc tring to bring in the haters of the FR(didnt work)
lousy writing styke if the 4e frcg and character guide

lousy large font used in the 4e fr books

a mask everyone has at least two of, one they wear in public and another they wear in private.....
Thank you for the welcome Smile

I can see how bad writing could cast a bad light on a setting, but I suppose my lack of familiarity is what really makes me curious as to what makes the changes that 4e made so egregious.

With such a popular setting, and from what I understand the plethora of canon material, doesn't that make the setting a little stagnant?

Again, coming from an outsiders perspective, is it that the changes were badly implemented or that the changes were more or less unnecessary?
Welcome to the Realms.

Do enjoy the 4E books you have and I mean that sincerely. Take advantage of the new setting and don't bother too much with the issues some fans have with the transition to 4E. It's really not worth your time if you're new to the setting.

Sfdragon gives a good summary for the division between the old and new versions of the setting.