In summary - why do people have problems with the 4th edition?

112 posts / 0 new
Last post
I'm new to D&D, and preparing to set up my first group.  I see that there's a lot of debate around about why the older versions were better, and some people have issues with the 4th edition.  I don't really understand what the issues with it are. 

From watching some of the youtube videos of games in action, I'm guessing it might be because of the actually system of fighting - when you have an encounter, it seems rather over-complicated;  I find myself wondering: what's happened to the narrative?  Because it takes ages to actually kill a few beasties.  Is your issue that they made it too much like a wargame?

Maybe I'm totally wrong though, that was just my initial thought.  I wonder if people could summarise, in one or two sentences: why do you like / not like the 4th edition; and why do you think the older versions were better / worse?

As I said, I'm new to all this, so please bear with me asking obvious questions, that must have been asked many times before.

4E is my favorite edition, but some of the most common complaints:  People not liking how the powers are set up.  All PHB1 and 2 classes were set up with at will, encounter, daily, and utility powers.  A lot of people did not want all casters to have at wills or martial classes to have daily powers.  Later classes changed this, but by then people had usually made up their mind.