Need some help designing an Underdark adventure.

7 posts / 0 new
Last post

I have been running a game for five of my friends now for a few months and I've hit a creative wall.  The party has recently acquired a map detailing a secret passage through the Underdark from a cave in the desert they currently are traveling through to the subterranean dungeons of a tower belonging to a dark wizard that they are hunting.  Now, I have run the party through a few Dungeon Magazine encounters and they have pick up some friends that traditionally live in the Underdark that I wouldn't mind giving a little cameo screen time.  They have completed a revamping of the "Box of Flumph" from Dungeon #118 and "Cloudkill" from Dungeon #79.  As such they have gained the friendship of the flumph Ulmoapop for rescuing his family, and the "I'm not your friend, but I kinda owe you one" relationship with the drow priestess Demaxia for destroying the derro weapon factory and releasing her from slavery.

My current plan is to have a two or three adventure arc in the Underdark in which the players lose the map and have to gain the aid of one of these two NPCs that now live nearby to find their way to the tower.  The problem is that I have never really done much with the Underdark and I need some inspiration. 

The party is level five and is populated as follows:
Shifter Shaman
Elven Barbarian
Half-elven Palladin
Halfling Fey-Pact Warlock
Pixie Witch

Any ideas or suggestions would be appreciated.  The party really loved Ulmoapop and would be overjoyed to meet him again, though I like the idea of a "overwhelming odds" fight with the drow that ends in the party being captured and having a "What the heck are you guys doing down here!" moment with Demaxia.

@mikemearls The office is basically empty this week, which opens up all sorts of possibilities for low shenanigans

@mikemearls In essence, all those arguments I lost are being unlost. Won, if you will. We're doing it MY way, baby.