Grimgrin Casual Zombie Deck

8 posts / 0 new
Last post

I'm new to deck building (obviously). I wanted to try my hand at making a deck that had Grimgrin in it and would have fun using him. I'd like this to be Standard legal.
Things I'm worried about:
The deck being slow. I added in the Sphere of the Suns thinking this might help me ramp.
I'm not sure if I need the counterspells or the creature removal...
Do I need some card draw like Think Twice or Ponder?

Just any advice would be appreciated. If I make this deck it would be for playing against friends. Thanks!
Is this that bad that no one wants to help? Frown
yes.
the deck is indeed very slow. vs creatures do or die is a good way of slowing opponent. noxious ghoul is golden with endless ranks - but also slow...

I'd recommend making the deck controlish...cut the cheaper offensive cards anything costing less then 4. the mix the deck so abouts half is defensive in a mix of counterspells, removal and sweeps.
I've got a U/B standard zombie deck atm. I don't use Grim Grin though. (A) He's too vulnerable to removal, (B) You have no way to fuel him. Reassembling skeletons is a good choice right now for feeind grim.

However In dark acension he gets help from gravecrawler (a 2/1 zombie you can play from your GY for 1 black) and somewhat from Mikadeaus (gives him undying, though only if you haven't been feeding him counters).

However as to your deck for the moment, I would do this:
-3 Moan of the Unhallowed I like this card, I really really do. However for 4 mana there are better zombies.
-3 Endless Ranks of the dead WAAY to slow. You have 1 zombie out? NO TOKENS FOR YOU!
-3 Grimgrin, Corpse-Born Too expensive and hard to fuel atm
-2 Grave Titan, maybe only -1.
-2 Doom blade 4 is risky if you come across non black creatures.
-3 Sphere of the Suns without a way to restore counters, not worth it

+3 Forbidden Alchemy Gives you card draw and fuel for your reaper.