new GM, need advice

I was wondering if anyone here could answer a couple of questions i had.  I'm a youth pastor, looking to start a game with some of the guys in our youth group.  I've never GM'ed before, (played some paladium games growing up, but never as GM) but i'm the only one who could GM for our group, so here's my questions: (and i DID do some basic googling/youtubeing before asking)
1) Is it possible to lead a game with only the revised core rule book? I've ordered it, but im wondering if i NEED anything else. I'm sure it adds depth to have more books, but we're all just starting out, so i'd like to start with the basics.
2) Do you have any other GM tips for beginners? How did you start? Did you start with short adventures, or jumped right to longer ones?

Any advice you can give would be extremely helpful! i have a few months before we really get it all together and kicked off, so i will be doing plenty of reading and planning before hand.

Thank you!
1.  Yes, you can play a game just with the Revised Core Rulebook.  It has all the rules that players need to know, plus a Gamemaster Section (including how to be a GM and build bad guys).

2.  Since you've never GM'd before, find some pregenerated adventures.  Here's a link I found with a list of adventures.  Unfortunately, most of the links don't seem to work.  But if you have the adventure names, you should be able to find them elsewhere.

Something that I did as a new GM is I found adventures that could logically go together and linked them.  "Steal of a Deal" and "Put Up Your Dukes" are a pair of adventures using the same antagonists.  You can also link other adventures to them simply by switching out the bad guys.

I personally recommend "Rendevous at Ord Mantell" (Rebellion era).  The heroes meet a gal who need to get her ship back (it crashed in the wilds).  The conclusion of the adventure can put the heroes in touch with the Rebellion.