Modular Structured 5E - smaller, focused *booklets* instead of the current format

20 posts / 0 new
Last post
What I would want to see is an even more modular structure. Take the PHB and break it down to:
(a) core rules booklet (movement, combat, etc..)
(b) booklet per race
(c) booklet per class
(d) ..

Each booklet should be in smaller format (A5?), hard cover.

This way if I want to play my human wizard I should buy 3-4 booklets instead of the entire PHB. Pricing should be refactored naturally.
I can then bundle these smaller (both in size and thickness) booklets to my game. I'm thinking on a nice looking special edition leather binder/bag ;)

I've been playing D&D for 25 years, WoTC: make my dream core true
Modular is one thing, but you're going to have to have /something/ in the core book.  If you break out races, you'll at least have to have humans.  If you break out classes...?

Want to see the best of 4e included in 5e?  Join the Old Guard of 4e.

5e really needs something like Wrecan's SARN-FU to support "Theatre of the Mind."

"You want The Tooth?  You can't handle The Tooth!"  - Dahlver-Nar.

"If magic is unrestrained in the campaign, D&D quickly degenerates into a weird wizard show where players get bored quickly"  - E. Gary Gygax

Oops, looks like this request tried to create an infinite loop. We do not allow such things here. We are a professional website!

Not necessarily. The core booklet will be just the framework. If you choose to play a human, buy the core booklet and the human booklet. If you choose to play a human wizard, add the wizard booklet and you'll end-up with three booklets that together form your own custom rule-set. Well.. that's my vision, for what its worth

Why not have the core races in one booklet, and add more as are necessary?  After all, the PHBs didn't have more than a page or two on each race, and a page on each paragon path.