So I'm creating my first world.

10 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hey there everyone.

I've got very little DM experience, but I've been playing DnD for a few years now. I want to run a game for some friends from college, and I'd like some advice.

I started off by creating a simple map (I'm no cartographer) for one of the major continents of my world.

imgur.com/55YCU

After creating this, I started to work on campaign plots/story arcs. And that's where I got stumped. I feel like parts of my arcs could use some more depth. I've got a general feel for what I want, but I don't feel like they're strong enough to support a whole campaign.

Here's what I got. Also, in the picture of the continent The Black Mountains are the huge ones in the center of it. I had issues marking those without the words being in the way. I always have issues thinking of political plots, so I feel like #3 is probably going to be my weakest point.

1. East of the Black Mountain Range is home to a ferocious Half-Dragon Army, The Smoldering Knights. It is also home to a large group of Tiefling Thieves, The Shadowhorns. War erupts when a Tiefling steals an ancient artifact that requires a long lost ritual to open and close the gates to the Abyss.

2. The volcanoes of Pelenall have been inactive for many centuries. Recently there have been massive earthquakes said to be centered from the volcanoes. The most active are The Kikorongo Trio in the Black Mountains. This could be a threat to all of Pelenall, or the entire world.

3. The dwarves of Old Northpass and New Northpass are in a political debate about who to trust in the war to the east. Old Northpass supports the tieflings, saying The Smoldering Knights are nothing but a bunch of dirty crossbreeds that deserve to be gone. New Northpass says that The Shadowhorns are a bunch of no good bandits looking to cause trouble. This could close the only pass in the mountains from the west to the east.