So, how will 4e be trashed to bring in the new edition?

36 posts / 0 new
Last post
Just as 4e was launched by taking a poo on 3e, what are all of the terrible flaws of 4e that will be brought to light?
It splintered the fanbase.

It relied too heavily on errata.

It strayed to far from previous concepts and slaughtered too many sacred cows.

4e kills kittens. It's true, 5e told me so.
Owner and Proprietor of the House of Trolls. God of ownership and possession.
my fave was people claiming they couldnt rp with 4e, when the fact was they just cant rp
The people in my D&D group felt that is was a dumbed down game. For me, it was meh. 3.5 is more entertaining and interesting to. I think 4e just did not have much depth to it.`

I am not a rules mechanics expert, I will leave that to others. But here is how Wizards lost me as a customer:

1) They screwed over the players who were were using character generators for 3.5.
    a) There was that POS character generator (e-Tools) they originally produced that didn't work.
    b) They didn't want to allow the PCgen developers to create free datasets.
    c) After I spent hundreds of dollars buying datasets from Code Monkey Publishing, they cut CMP off at the knees eventually destroying their efforts and leaving me with an incomplete datasets representative of the 3.5   books.

2) Using goon lawyers they threw their weight around, harassing those who opposed them

3) They refused to sell electronic PDF copies of the3.5 D&D books to their customers.

4) The made seemingly idiotic staf personnel changes.

That's enogh for right now.

John
my fave was people claiming they couldnt rp with 4e, when the fact was they just cant rp

Yeah, I hate that argument.

I at least acknowledge I like the mechanics that they used to have because I thought some of them were fun and interesting mechanics (such as guidelines on how to research spells, even the old alignment system) - not because they were needed for roleplaying.