Old Newbie here, hail!

13 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hi all, just saying hi here. I am an old newbie. Meaning, I am a 43 year old newbie to magic. My story is on my new blog. I created a site here. Currently sorting through a "new to me" collection that is huge. Any advice on that is welcome. I am currrently trying to sort them all by release/block first.

Thanks!

Welcome to the forums.

I don't know how many cards you own, but there's a fair amount from the blog photo. I couldn't ID much, but I thought I saw a Fellwar Stone in one of the nearer piles, and if it is it's from The Dark (that was the only set with that art in black borders.)

Sorting by set is the best way to start - I personally then sort by colour and type. Separate artifacts and lands.

A couple of useful links, and some history.

Set symbols can be identified from the products page. This shows everything - not only core and expansions, but also all the special products like duel decks, WotC have released.

With set symbols, core and expansion sets released on or after June 1998 have colour-coded set symbols to indicate rarity - I suspect you know this. (I believe the Portal and Starter sets are an exception.)

Sets released before Exodus don't have this colour-coding. The set symbols are all one colour (usually black), and the first six core sets - Alpha, Beta, Unlimited, Revised, Fourth Edition and Fifth Edition - don't have a set symbol at all. There is a handy-dandy illustrated guide to the sets and how to tell them apart in the FAQ at the top of this forum. It's found here.

Some cards in the older sets can be staggeringly valuable, as they are both scarce and in high demand. Watch out for them.

Hope you have fun with your ccards.
Still blessed by Julia of Hillsdown. M:tG Rules Adviser You are Red/Blue!
You are Red/Blue!
Take The Magic Dual Colour Test - Beta today!
Created with Rum and Monkey's Personality Test Generator.