'cuz the party don't start till I sahuagin

11 posts / 0 new
Last post

Alternate title: ery day I'm sahuagin

Okay y'alls, this is the sahuagin. They are a bunch of devil-shark-fish men, and I thought it'd be fun to homebrew one up and see what people think. As I'm no expert at game balance, I'll let y'all have at it and let me know what's the 411 and all that junk on whether this is balanced or not.

A primer: Sahuagin live in coastal seas and oceans, and have a very hard name to spell. In fourth edition, they are chaotic evil, but I prefered keeping them with a lawful sway like their counterparts from earlier editions. This ties in better with the sea devil part of their name, and allows for an interesting racial mechanic that you'll see once you scroll down. Anyways, besides that, they are a religious species of raiders, who worship Sekolah, an exarch of Melora (who is unaligned, remember?). Their settlements are similar to the feudal system in that there is a rigid caste system with kings, princes, barons, and so on. However, like sharks, they go into a frenzy if they sense blood.

Mechanically, I'm pretty happy with the sahuagin in that they have a very interesting racial theme. (Bloodied, bloodied everywhere). In addition to that, they fill both the STR/CHR void, only filled by dragonborn and vryloka, and the STR/DEX void, only filled by half orcs and bugbears.  

SAHUAGIN

IMAGE(http://www.wizards.com/dnd/images/Monster_gallery/162.jpg)

RACIAL TRAITS
Average Height: 5'9"-6'4"
Average Weight: 180-220 lb.

Ability Scores: +2 STR; +2 DEX or +2 CHR
Size: Medium
Speed: 6, swim 7
Vision: Normal

Languages: Common, Abyssal
Skill Bonuses: +2 Athletics, +2 Intimidate
Aquatic: You count as an aquatic creature for all rules and effects that apply to them, and do not take the penalty to attack rolls from being underwater.
Vicious Predator: You have combat advantage against bloodied creatures.