"Good" Party starting to turn Evil.

11 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hello,
I'm fairly new to DMing, and in one of the adventures I'm running, the PCs went into a slighly shady bar and asked if there was a theives guild in the town. They rolled poorly, so the patrons just laughed them off. This spurred one of the PCs to try and steal the cashbox, but he rolled poorly on his check as well. We stopped for the night right as the PCs were about to attack everyone in the bar, and that brings me to my question. The PCs say that they're good aligned, but I'm not really getting this from their actions (heck, they tried to kill one of their npc traveling companions because he rolled poorly in a fight). What should I do about this? Should I have the city guards lock them in prison if they kill everyone in the bar or what?

Thanks for your advice. 
Your PCs are doing this because you're not giving them anything else compelling on which to focus their attention. As well, it sounds like during Session 0, you didn't have a chat about what the game was going to be about and how the players envision their characters in that world. This is an important discussion to have because it gives everyone a frame of reference and sets the tone before the first session. If everyone wants to be holier-than-thou do-gooders, that party has no room for a drow assassin that wants to kill the party's paladin or rob every NPC in sight. If you did have the discussion and the players are now going against what was decided, that's kind of a jerk move on their parts since you prepared another style of game altogether.

I'd recommend you have this discussion out of game with them before you play again. If they choose to continue on their current path and you're okay with that, then throw out any plans for them to be heroic and run a gritty street-level crime game (for example). Or a mercenary game... anything that fits their play style better than what you're planning currently.