Delver-Control UB

6 posts / 0 new
Last post

Hi everyone! I am relatively new to playing Standard (since Core 2012), and I would love to hear some comments on my newest deck.

I have recently been play-testing a more aggro approach to typical "draw, go" style U/B. I have found that this deck doesn't deal well early game and all to often it can lose easily to decks such as Tempered Steel and Delver-Illusions.

I decided to try and speed up the U/B deck by adding some of the elements that make the Delver-Illusion build so successful without sacrificing all of the integrity of the late game success by U/B Control.

Here is what I have so far:

The premise is to apply pressure early game with the Delvers and Bears. They are both potent 1 drops that can put the opponent on a quick clock. If the opponent deals with them I have my Drakes as the second line of defense. I have been amazed how at how many times against a RDW that my Delver will get shocked on turn 1 or 2. This allows me to get out a Drake more fluidly than I originally thought.

Mid-game is where I like to abuse more counter/removal suite. Mana Leaks are saved for artifacts and enchantments usually, while my Doom Blade/Tribute to Hunger Package can usually deal with most threats. The Snapcaster helps a ton, if I could get 1 or 2 more I would likely use them in this list. Forbidden Alchemy is key, allowing me to dig for the right card. (The graveyard abuse in this deck doesn't hurt for the 3 that get discarded either!) Vapor Snag has been finding more success recently, which I am very happy to see. It's a powerful card that in a build like this can continue to stall out the opponent while I am swinging with my early game threats.

Late-game is usually Grave Titan/Consecrated Sphinx time. These are just brutal cards in my playtesting and because of my early game damage I can usually close a match shortly after they hit the field.