4E Money just doesn't add up

52 posts / 0 new
Last post
I have just returned to D&D after a few years hiatus. So as I settle into 4th ed, I have noticed an issue with the money system. I am the group's DM & they have just advanced to 11th level. I generally come up with my own adventures, but as I said I'm returning after a long break and I'm new to 4th ed. 

So the modules I have hardly give any treasure. My group just found an Adult Black Dragon's lair. The treasure totaled @6000 GPs and included one magic item. Not much if you ask me. When I read the books or look online, I see the prices of magic items. They can get over 3 million GPs for 27-30 level items!!

Now I'm skilled enough to know I can change anything I want. I can add to the treasure horde or cut the "Blue Book" price for an item. But really, the cost of a suit of plate armor is 50 GP?!? It used to take a while to earn your plate as a knight or fighter and now you walk out of fighter school with it.

So the price of a basic meal is the same, but the cost of materials and labor to make a suit of armor has decreased....

Am I just being an old fuddy-duddy or does this really not add up? 
No, you're not taking into account the whole picture. Why does what an item cost need to take into account differences in edition?

4e money works because money=armor+weapons and 4e money is suited to 4e attack/damage/armor values. It's that simple.
Here's what you need to understand: A 1st level character in 4e is roughly equivalent to a 5th level character in a previous edition.

Once you get that, you realize why it make sense for a 1st level paladin to have a set of full plate: he didn't just walk out of "paladin school," whatever the heck that is. He's been an accomplished paladin for some time.