Are people neglecting Skill Challenges?

143 posts / 0 new
Last post
I'm still fairly new to 4E... I've been playing every Sunday at the local comic book store for the last few weeks, where there are usually three or four tables running for five or six hours at a time.  The entire time I've been there, I haven't seen a single DM at ANY of the tables do a Skill Challenge. 

Skill Challenges are one of my favorite parts of the 4E rules, and I was really excited about being able to do some in the games I'm playing.  Why are DMs not using them?

I'm planning on DM'ing starting in the summer, once I've got all of the rules under my belt, and I've already got Skill Challenge ideas galore in my planner.
personally i hate skill challenges, i prefer setting up a scenario and letting players roleplay it out, rolling when i deem necessary as opposed to some superficial feeling structured roleplay. the only good thing about a skill challenge in my opinion is they give xp so you dont have to level so incredibly slow
Well, in the best skill challenges, the players don't even know they are in one  =)

Around here, most of the DMs ran them the wrong way, didn't like 'em or just plain didn't understand 'em, and then abandoned the concept.  The worst offenders are being too combat focused, confusion between skill challenges, group skill checks and the goals of each, or just being unaware of the rules.  We do at least 1 or 2 every game night, and even the combat fanatics get into them because they know that even the failed ones at least count as 1 encounter closer to a milestone.

critical-hits has an awesome repository of skill challenge commentary, I highly recommend it. 

INSIDE SCOOP, GAMERS: In the new version of D&D, it will no longer be "Edition Wars." It will be "Edition Lair Assault." - dungeonbastard

personally i hate skill challenges, i prefer setting up a scenario and letting players roleplay it out