Help needed in making my players care about their characters

15 posts / 0 new
Last post
I've been running the same group off and on for quite a few years now.    In the past 5, we've only played seasonally, a game here and there.  But we're getting ready to start an on-going campaign.    For the first time in a long while, I required the players to each create a backstory for their characters.

While all my players seem to enjoy the story, some tend to play in such a way that something is either a combat advantage or it's useless.   I have one player in particular who I've already hinted to that he is meta-gaming but I don't think my words sunk in.    He is the type of player that I swear I could offer his character a magic bow, but if he takes it, his (game) parents are instantly killed.    And I suspect he wouldn't hesitate for a second before picking up the bow.    By his logic, taking the bow makes his character better, and having his parents die does not, so the choice is obvious.  

FWIW, in his backstory he had a good relationship with his parents and cares about them.   His character was written as being fairly honorable, nor was he particularly greedy, etc. etc.   Suffice it to say he has nothing in his backstory that would justify such a cold-hearted action.

I don't want to tell him that taking the bow, especially without hesitation is the wrong decision, but damnit, it is!   In the real world, no one who loved their parents would just shrug and say oh well to their death in exchange for some treasure.   And the bow wouldn't have to be some powerful artifact.  I suspect that any gear upgrade at all would have the same effect on him.

I'm conflicted.   As a DM, I don't want to force another player to make a decision on what his character would do, but if his character is going to make choices that utterly conflict with that character background, then the background itself becomes pointless, no?