Bard - Stupid Newbie Questions

11 posts / 0 new
Last post

As described in my other thread: community.wizards.com/go/thread/view/758... (How do I make that a link? I see an "insert link" button, but it's greyed out, so I can't use it)

I'm pretty new to 4e, and I've been invited relatively last minute to join a campaign starting tomorrow, so I need to build a character fast. The big caveat is that since our group is all 4e newbies, the DM has decided we'll only use the Players Handbook and Players Handbook 2 for making our characters. The rest of the group had a character creation session before I was invited to join, so based on what they're playing, and my own preference, I wanted a primarily non-melee leader or controller.

Based on the thread I mentioned above, I've decided to go with a Cunning Bard. But being new to 4e, I don't know much about the class, so I've got a ton of questions.

1. Do bards need a ranged weapon? They're proficient with some of them, but looking at their powers, it looks like they can get away with just casting Vicious Mockery or another spell every turn and it'll be just as good (if not better) than shooting arrows at the bad guys. I'm used to Pathfinder bards who are primarily archers when they aren't using spells, so the idea of a bard who doesn't run out of spells and thus doesn’t need a plan for what to do when he's not casting spells is new to me.

2. Do bards need strength? It looks like bards do benefit from carrying a melee weapon, even if they don't intend to use it very often. But it also looks like their melee attacks are going to use cha based spells instead of the melee basic attack. So is strength good for anything other than making sure your chainmail doesn't slow you down (carrying capacity)? Which brings me to my next question...