11/9/2011 Stf: "Six Ways to Fail at Creative Endeavors"

26 posts / 0 new
Last post
This thread is for discussion of this week's Savor the Flavor, which goes live Wednesday morning on magicthegathering.com.
Why is Jace saying "I am the Korean language"?

Um... because Jace is an arrogant prick?
I dunno.
There need to be more articles like this. Although it little to do with Magic, at least on a surface level, this stuff is probably very applicable to the vast majority of this column's readers. I'm a sophomore writing major who spends a large chunk of his time doing creative writing in some form or other, so I think about this kind of thing all the time, and I'm still trying to figure this stuff out. Thanks, Doug.
Yeah, kinda awkward knowing that what he's saying doesn't actually make sense.

Great article, Doug.  I recognize all these bad habits in myself to varying degrees, and no doubt many of the rest of the audience does as well.  This stuff definitely needs to be said.

And if you want an easy answer to the language question, drop me a line.  My Unifying Theory of Planeswalkers answers this one along with many other persistent puzzlers.

My New Phyrexia Writing Credits My M12 Writing Credits
As far as the benefit of the rest of Magic is concerned, gold cards in Legends were executed perfectly. They got all the excitement a designer could hope out of a splashy new mechanic without using up any of the valuable design space. Truly amazing. --Aaron Forsythe's Random Card Comment on Kei Takahashi
It just shines a spotlight on the language problem in general. It's a common issue in fantasy, and the general solution is: just leave it alone and get on with your story about werewolves and wizards.

This lesson is golden.  Know what story you actually want to tell, know what you can take for granted in your medium, and stay away from stories that just don't need to be told.