is Grimgrin any good for commander? (first time in EDH)

16 posts / 0 new
Last post
quick question; is Grimgrin any good for commander, cause im looking to build a commander deck for the first time and considering i started playing when New Phyrexia came out, i dont have any older cards. i have Sheoldred,Whispering One and vorniclex but idk if those are any good for commander. i also have  tezz, agent of bolas( felt grimgrin and him would pair nice considering...)

ideas?
I am Black/Green
I am Black/Green
Take The Magic Dual Colour Test - Beta today!
Created with Rum and Monkey's Personality Test Generator.
I am both selfish and instinctive. I value growth and community, as long as they favour my own objectives; I enjoy nature, and I particularly enjoy watching parts of nature die. At best, I am resilient and tenacious; at worst, I'm uncontrollable and destructive.
Grimgrin is fine, although Thraximundar is really just better. Sheoldred and Vorinclex would both work fine as well.
Personally, I'm always nervous with Thraximundar. Someone in my group already plays it, and they are consistently hated out first.

Grimgrin... it's an interesting card. I just pulled one myself and have been trying to work out an EDH decklist. Unlike other commanders you might use, it will require some building around. You'll want to produce a lot of tokens (Oona, Queen of the Fae, Army of the Damned, Endless ranks of the dead if you're running a lot of zombies) so that you can sacrifice these tokens to Grimgrin in order to strengthen him. Additionally, when you sacrifice creatures and you have Grave Pact in play... it gets funny really fast. Most of these cards have been printed or reprinted fairly recently, and should be easy enough to find.

Another thing if you're playing a fair number of zombies, you can make infinite combos with Rooftop Storm, Cloudstone Curio, and any two zombie creatures, as long as one has an effect when it enters the battlefield.