This will just not do!

28 posts / 0 new
Last post

First I will tell a bit about where I am coming from. I have been playing since I turned 15 I am now 39 so I have been playing D&D for about 25 years, I have seen many things in D&D come and go. I have run my own campaign world for around 22 of those years. My game world is almost complete with god's, creation myths, unique monsters. I witnessed the release and know the origin of iconic creatures such as Death Knights, Ettercap, Githyanki & Githzerai, Hook Horror, Kuo-Toa, Ravenant, Slaad’s and many others. And to me Vecna is only an uppity Wizard/Lich that was beat down a couple times.

When it comes to the inventiveness of a small group of people (people at WotC) there inventiveness pales compared to the tens of thousands or hundreds of thousands of players and DM’s that are playing the game. For my game and I would guess many of the games out there there’s a LOT of house rules that never get applied as they should be.

The inability to change the character generator to reflect my house rules means that I am hard presses to endorse the character generator to my players. Similarly the reduced capacity to change monsters on the monster creator means that I need to use both the beta downloadable one and the on line one though it’s the downloadable one that gives me more use.

Character generator

The Character generator should let me set up a set of house rules that I can have all my players can join with either a code from me either the name or number of the campaign I registered the group under. Then place some of their characters in my campaign setting and make characters that reflect my game rules so if I restrict classes or races points buy value or other things that will have the restrictions show up when they are making their characters up.