[CRL] Should i get this or Wrath of Ashardalon?

9 posts / 0 new
Last post
I am new to these DnD boardgames. I know that there are 2 sets that are out right now -- Wrath of Ashardalon and Castle Ravenloft. I am getting the upcoming Drizzt board game for sure, but i also want 1 more as an expension to it.

I really really like the theme of Castle Ravenloft (undeads, dracolich / vampires), but it has really mixed reviews which, while praising it as a good fun game with good value, critcize it as a punishing, difficult game. On the other hand, WoA's theme doesn't seem very attractive to me, but its reviews are generally good and many praise it as an improvement from Castle Ravenloft (almost zero criticism).

I am just wondering what you guys think. As people who have played both games... is it really that much inferior compared to Wrath of Ashardalon?
All of them are difficult, but Ravenloft has the edge.  Some people think there is no tactical thinking to these games but there is, in reality, alot.  Of course there is the luck element, but there was always that element in any D&D game.  For the first timer I would recommend Ashardalon, then as you get the feel of it and get hooked, go for Ravenloft.  Both are good fun, except adventure 9 in Ravenloft, I still have no idea how to play that one.
Get them all! The games complement each other nicely, and if you like one, you'll like the other as well.

I prefer the more thematic scenarios in Ravenloft over the repetitive search-chamber-kill-Villain scenarios in Ashardalon but like the additions of chamber tiles (as a game mechanic) and campaign rules in Ashardalon.

Then, of course, there are 5 more Heroes, numerous Villains and Monsters to mix it up. You sound like myself when I heard about the Drizzt game. I didn't ever intend to buy Ravenloft or Ashardalon before hearing about Drizzt, but since they are compatible, I gave it a go. Best D&D purchase ever for me! So again: Get them all! :D