How to make enemies provoke OAs?

18 posts / 0 new
Last post
OK, here's the problem.

1) I'm using  build like the one in my sig.
2) I'm pretty much hidden all the time (actually, I stop being hidden after making an OA, but it's a worthwhile tradeoff).
3) I have a good MBA, and my striker features both trigger once per *turn*.

All this adds up to the realization - this build should encourage enemies to trigger OAs often. If I can isolate an enemy so that they're forced to either attack me (guess my square) or provoke an OA from me in order to attack someone else, that's a huge leap in practical optimization.

With the right positioning, I might be able to prevent the target from shifting+charging. But it will be hard to pull off.

Is there a better way to accomplish this? Basically, if the target only has one action, is prone, or can't shift, then it shouldn't be too hard to pull off.

Currently I have a few tricks, but they're dailies:

1. Assassin poisons. Bloodroot dazes (save ends) as a once-off, while Dark Reaver Powder dazes UEONT on a hit for the whole encounter. For this build that means 2 encounters of easy-daze.

2. Warlock daily. At the moment I'm leading towards Voice of the Dictator. I can force the enemy to provoke each round. It's a little overkill (I don't need to be hidden to benefit from this) but it's still nice.

3. Bloodroot poison and Voice of the Dictator can be essentially doubled in length (albeit split across two targets) using the Warlock encounter 13 Dark Reach of Xevut.

4. Student of the Athanaeum would grant me a second use of the Warlock daily each day.

All in all that's 4 encounters per day where enemies will likely provoke a lot of OAs from me.

But what I really want is a way to do it at will. Any suggestions? 
Your best bet is to end your turn next to them ...hidden. Assuming you have no allies adjacent and they don't make a close attack, you are likely to get an OA.