Question on Balance

16 posts / 0 new
Last post
I have been playing in a long campaign for about 2 years now. Its a published AD&D campaign. The DM wanted to play it low wealth/low magic. That is not a problem because it was agree long ago. So the DM has cut the treasure and magic items by 1/2 to 1/3 or more since the begining and this is one of the lowest campaigns I seen to begin with) At about 10 lvl we aveage about 20k in total treasure and magic valuve. I'm not complaining about that, it was agreed in advance. (The amount of treasure is only that high because the wizard took creation feats and we been very creative in our finding treasure. If we did not push this it would be closer to 10k each)

The problem starts here: we go to this castle and sneak in. We thought the BBG was in one part of the castle, he was not. The goal was to get the artifact but not to kill the BBG. Since we skip going room to room we missed the BBG and found the artifact first. Then we battled the guardian of the artifact and chased it away. We were very beat up so we fled. All is good so far.

The problem is we are bunch of good characters and we wanted to kill the guardian and the BBG.  The story did not require us to kill him but it did not sit well with us. So we went back. The DM was not that happy that we wanted to kill the BBG, but let us go back. (inthe campaign the PC killed the BGG here) We did not plan really well when we went back so we did not get either the guardian or the BBG. Before we were chased out by all the guards.

Time pass, we go on more adventure, but the players are still planning on going back. We talk about it a lot and get a better plan. The BBG and his guardian show up later in the story and we kill them.