Magic is just too expensive!!!

56 posts / 0 new
Last post
I started playing back in '94 or '95 when ever 4th edition and Ice Age 1st came out. I have started and stopped several times throughout the last 17 years. I love to play, but I have a problem fitting it into my schedule. I don't have any close friends that play anymore, so I get back into it for a little while and eventually drop back out. The one thing I could count on was that I always had a few cards that were playable, but now that the core sets are half new, I have to start all over if I want to come back. I do enjoy new cards, but what gets me is printing a new card in the same color, for the same amount of mana, and will do the exact same as an older card. It wouldn't even be so bad if it were just commons and maybe a few uncommons, but when you started with the rares, that was just too far. Why do I need a Day of Judgement when I have Wrath of God. I realize Wrath is better, so why don't we make Day of Judgement cheaper or less mana constricting with WW in the cost. I just needed to vent, so if you don't agree, that is ok. I really love the game of magic, but I don't want to have to take out a second mortgage or refinance my car every couple of years to replace my cards with the same card with a different name! Of course it is not that expensive, but it can keep me out of the game when I would rather be playing!!!
I know what you mean.  The other thing that always gets me is.. well just compare Wurmcoil Engine to Craw Wurm, and there are hundereds of examples like this.
I know what you mean.  The other thing that always gets me is.. well just compare Wurmcoil Engine to Craw Wurm, and there are hundereds of examples like this.

Yeah, or Necropotence to Dark Tutelage, or Mox Pearl to Mox Opal, or Time Walk to Time Warp...

power doesn't creep, it shifts. 
You'll forget you ever read this the minute you look away.
Veslfen's House of Bone-Dry Sarcasm
88318561 wrote:
76783093 wrote: