Restricting the raise dead ritual

42 posts / 0 new
Last post
Looking for a little bit of advice about restricting a specific ritual from PC usage, the raise dead ritual.

Background: Eberron slightly homebrewed campaign, players are level 4 at the moment and have 2 ritual casters 1 Wizard and 1 Bard. This is my first time DMing a campaign

Reasons for restriction: Firstly I want player death to be a real hurdle not just 'lol cast raise dead' which I feel takes a bit of the danger out of adventuring.
Secondly it makes House Jorasco (healing house/megacorp)  and some other factions seem more powerful if they are the only ones who have anyone able to do it
Thirdly raising the dead is meant to be very hard at times in Eberron given the way the planes work there and the story is occuring at a time when Dollurh (plane of the dead) is at its maximum 'distance' from the material plane. This is actually getting worked into the plot as a reason for a powerful necromancer turning to outside force to maintain/gain power as his power source becomes weaker.

My problem is the fact that Wizards (and I think bards) gain free rituals every so many levels and I'm not sure how Kosher it is to simply say "no you cant pick that, desnt matter what the PHB says" and point to my story reasons.

Any advice oh old ones?
I think that if you explain it to your players as well as you did to us, they're probably fine with it. Especially if you add an "I won't arbitrarily kill your character" to it (which you shouldn't do anyway)

I see no real issues with restricting this kind of thing unless the players are really, really, really opposed to the idea, which they probably aren't. 
Epic Dungeon Master

Want to give your players a kingdom of their own? I made a 4e rule system to make it happen!

Your Kingdom awaits!
Update 5th Sep 2011: Added a sample kingdom, as well as sample of play.