Help with an encounter. Those pesky undead!

9 posts / 0 new
Last post
Two of my players reads this forum, so I have to put in this bit first -

PHIL and STEVIE from NORWICH - STOP READING NOW. 

SERIOUSLY

I MEAN IT

GO READ ANOTHER POST.

Anyway....

Hey there, I am designing an encounter and am looking for some advice.  I am still new to running 4th Ed, and its all a little confusing, but I am getting there.  This will be the first dungeon I have run, and the characters are continuing characters from the last season of Encounter(which I joined in halfway, but did not run). 

Essentially its an encounter of skeletons.  However, due to the prescence of a magical item(yet to be designed, feel free to help with stats, the players can nab it if they are good enough) after they have died, they have a chance of re-combining and getting back up. 

Its a standard encounter for 4 4th level adventurers, and I think the XP budget is about 800(if I did my maths right).  Theres a 400Xp  monster, and then 2 level 3 soldier skeletons and 6 lvl 1 minion skeletons.  Slightly over budget, but the numbers dont seem too hard.  I was thinking of having the skeletons get back up on a 11-20 roll on their initiative. 

Does this seem too harsh? 
Not really. In fact, you're thinking too hard on this. Make the item in question a trap that has its own initiative count and can raise the skeletons for you. That way, the players have something to zero in on after the first scare of a revived skelly, and characters with trap disabling skills can feel important and awesome. Two birds with one stone, and you can boost the encounter level a bit to make it seem a big battle with a big reward.

Happy Gaming

Essentially its an encounter of skeletons. However, due to the prescence of a magical item(yet to be designed, feel free to help with stats, the players can nab it if they are good enough) after they have died, they have a chance of re-combining and getting back up.