A List of House Rules/Game Fixes

11 posts / 0 new
Last post
Here's a list of house rules and/or game fixes that I've been compiling since I started playing DnD. I'm just curious what the community thinks of them, and if there are any I should add or change.

House Rules

Critical Success and Critical Failure
On a skill or ability check, a roll of natural 20 is a critical success and a roll of natural 1 is a critical failure. On a critical success, the check automatically succeeds, and you gain a +2 bonus to the next skill check with that skill. In a skill challenge, add one extra victory to the tally. On a critical failure, the check automatically fails, and you take a –2 penalty to the next skill check with that skill. (this one is optional based on the player’s opinion)

Mechanical Fixes:

Save Ends vs. End of Next Turn
-    Save ends effects last until the end of the inflicting creature’s next turn, after which the afflicted creature begins to roll saves as normal. Abilities that grant saves before this point function normally.
               o Essentially all “save ends” effects are now, “[effect] until end of [caster’s] next turn, aftereffect: [effect] save ends.”
-    When slowed all movement made by a creature, regardless of the movement type or method is reduced to 2  (except teleport)
-    Deafened creatures grant combat advantage in addition to being deafened.

Feat Taxes
-    Avengers, Battleminds, Monks, Charisma based Paladin’s, and Swordmages all have a new class feature: Skillful Melee, which allows them to use their primary attribute (wisdom, constitution, dexterity, charisma, and intelligence respectively) for melee basic attacks.
-    Multiclass power swapping
               o  one power swap feat after the initial multiclass allows the character to swap out one utility, encounter, and/or daily power
               o  Paragon Multi-class only requires the initial multiclass feat and the one power swap feat