B/R Infect

71 posts / 0 new
Last post
I'm pretty new to magic, so don't be too hard on my decisions, but i believe a B/R infect deck might be pretty viable(maybe not in my hands though). Please help me build something out of what i made myself.

Lands
9x Swamp
9x Mountain
4x Dragonskull Summit
Spells
4x Pyroclasm
2x Pyromancer Ascension
4x Grim Affliction
4x Tezzeret's Gambit
4x Virulent Wound
3x Virulent Swipe
4x Dismember
 Artifacts
2x Tumble Magnet
2x Livewire Lash
Creatures
4x Phyrexian Crusader
2x Skithiryx, the Blight Dragon
2x Plague Stinger
 Planeswalkers
1x Chandra, the Firebrand
There have been a number of other decks like this posted, reading arround would likely help you some.

Specificly for your list I don't think you have enough creatures, expecially fast ones, and tezzeret's gambit and dismember are the only two spells you have that I would want to play though not in those numbers. If you're playing red poison I can't think of any reason not to include Assault strobe and Teetering peaks, and there are much better options available than Grim Affliction and Virulent wound/swipe.

I like B/R poison (even though U/G seems to be doing the best atm) and think that with a bit of work you will be able to make something that works for you.
Would this help?

-4Mountain
+4Teetering Peaks
 -1Tezzeret's Gambit
 -1Dismember
+2Plague Stinger
 -2Virulent Wound
 -1Virulent Swipe 
+3Assault Strobe

And do you have any suggestions for fast creatures? And i have no clue what to replace Grim Affliction with... Thanks for your critisism, i really need someone to point me to my mistakes.
Maybe Razor Swine would do as a fast creature...
In that case in addition to the previous changes I would say:
 -2Grim Affliction
+2Razor Swine

Any thoughts on that?
That is one of the directions i could go with the deck... I would probably drop 2 Lightning bolts for 2 Dismembers, since especially with Pyromancer Ascencion it can destroy any creature.