7/19/2011 SF: "Get Tied Up With Our Core Set"

12 posts / 0 new
Last post
This thread is for discussion of this week's Serious Fun, which goes live Tuesday morning on magicthegathering.com.
Does this poll not work for anyone else? Yes, for every other color
I build a few beginner decks, but I would love to see what they come up with using M12 cards. 
I have a really smart friend who wasn't the type of person to play magic. But during school, sometimes my math teacher would let me and some other people play magic in the back of the classroom if we finished our work early. My friend would watch us play from that he would got the gist of the game. Eventually I was able to convince him to attend a local draft with me and from then on he was hooked. Currently I think he goes through dailymtg.com and starcitygames.com daily. He now knows more about the game than I do. He is really into it. 
I've been playing magic for ~16 years off and on and I've taught a veriety of different people how to play; from fraternity brothers,  room mates, my little brother, and even my mom. Over the past year or two I constructed a single colored deck for each color, similar to your black deck featured in this article, in order to teach people how to play. Breaking down the different colors made it easier to explain the different strengths and weaknesses of each, plus it allowed new players to get a different feel for each and see what strategy they enjoy.

I do wish that more of my immediate friends played the game so it was easier to get in a quick match on a random Tuesday night when I was feeling the itch to play, but I feel like things like Duel of the Planeswalkers can scratch that itch until FNM or a Pre Release rolls around. I could try and get my current room mates to try, but I almost feel like the "social acceptability" factor of the game could play a part in them not being interested.