Anyone anywhere play only with Theme/Intro decks exclusively?

16 posts / 0 new
Last post
I'm relatively new to the game and the aspect of deck construction is mind boggling.

Are there many players out there that play theme/intro preconstructed decks only?
I used to when I just started, for a good year or so I played with nothing but precons, but I only played at lunch with my friend who also used precons. They are pretty weak as decks but if you play with friends who also use precons then it can be really fun. But after a while you probably want to start building your own deck.

Depends on your playgroup really, if your friends are all new then theres no problem just grabbing the intro decks and playing, but they wont be very good against any properly built deck. There are a lot of decklists online, many of which cost very little to build, so if money is the issue have a look around.

Those decks are great places to start, but eventually most people move on to building thier own decks.

Though a good place to start deck building is by making slight changes to a pre-built deck. Maybe swapping out a color for a different one, or adding a minor theme.

… and then, the squirrels came.
Just buy an Event Deck - any of them.
They've been the first time I've played Standard since 1997.
The Intro packs now come with a booster pack. Most new players probably add at least one card from it to their decks now after buying them. Also, many players I knew began playing exclusively with one player and built their own first deck before playing with strangers. Based on these things, I find it unlikely that you'll find a player using a pure preconstructed deck.
Sometimes I carry around a pair of unmodified Duel Decks for pickup games.

~ Tim
I am Blue/White Reached DCI Rating 1800 on 28/10/11. :D
Sig
56287226 wrote:
190106923 wrote:
Not bad. But what happens flavor wise when one kamahl kills the other one?