[WoA] Villians vs Monsters and Activations

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
I just started playing WoA with my son to introduce him to the joys of D&D without all the complexity.  I played AD&D during my high school and college years, but that was many years ago.

My recollection is that when a monster "appeared" adjacent or nearby to the heroes, it would immediately attack the party on its turn.  I don't get the whole "who controls the monster" aspect, and reading the rules, it would seem that monsters don't attack until they are "in play".  Does this mean they sit there until we attack them?  This would imply we could just "sneak" around them if we are low on hp or if we simply don't wish to be bothered.

I assume that I am severely misinterpreting the rules as this behavior would be very unrealistic.  A monster would hear and smell the party coming and spring into action when in range.

How should this basic mechanic work?

Thanks! Smile
if you follow the steps of the round you find that the activation stage of the monsters is immediately following the exploration stage.
So you have already attacked and moved, not remain you to be attacked!

It is all about the turn order.   On your exploration phase ( and sometimes  on the hero phase ) you will draw a new tile or  a card that calls for a new monster to be placed.  You do this.   The next step of your turn is the Villian phase.   On this turn  the monsterss  do their thing.  So the monster you just placed (and any other controled by this player, more on this in  a sec) will activate and you follow  the triage on the card.  They will either attack if they are close enough to do so or you will move them.  Monsters always get the  first initiation in this game.

As to who controls the monster: