How Does Infect Work

10 posts / 0 new
Last post
Probably an easy question, but I'm new to this. I have a creature with infect - Chained Throatseaker 5/5. It says this creature deals damage to creatures in the form of -1/-1 counters and to players in the form of poison counters.

Let me know how to interpret this correctly.

If I attack with it, and the other player defends with his creature, then his creature gets -1/-1 applied to it?

And if it's not defended, then the other player gets 5 poison counters AND 5 regular damage, or just 5 poison counters (or something else)?

Thanks!
Jen
Probably an easy question, but I'm new to this. I have a creature with infect - Chained Throatseaker 5/5. It says this creature deals damage to creatures in the form of -1/-1 counters and to players in the form of poison counters.

Let me know how to interpret this correctly.

If I attack with it, and the other player defends with his creature, then his creature gets -1/-1 applied to it?

Yes, the blocking creature will get five -1/-1 counters.

And if it's not defended, then the other player gets 5 poison counters AND 5 regular damage, or just 5 poison counters (or something else)?

Just the 5 poison counters.  The player will not also lose life.

There is a specific forum for rules questions and they are answered better and quicker there.

A 5/5 infect creature that is blocked in combat will assign 5 -1/-1 counters to the blocking creature if the damage is not mitigated in some way. Against a player it would assign 5 poison counters. anyone who has 10 or more poison counters loses the game the same as if they had 0 or less life.

a 5/5 infect with trample blocked by a 2/2 creature could assign 2 damage to the creature and 3 damage to the player. Against the creature this damage would be applied as 2 -1/-1 counters and against the player this would be assigned as 3 poison counters.